December 7, 2023


One Voice Washington Office:
410 First Street SE
Suite 200
Washington, DC 20003
Paul Nathanson
2001 M Street NW
Suite 900
Washington, DC 20036

The Meadville Tribune: Local NTMA, Kuhns honored

NTMA featured in Meadville Tribune article.

Friday, October 28, 2016

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — The northwestern Pennsylvania chapter of the National Tooling and Machining Association has been named Chapter of the Year of the trade association for the tooling and machining industry.

It's the third time in the six years of the award that the local chapter has received the award, while local chapter members Ken and Bonnie Kuhn of Kuhn Tool and Die also were recognized for local and national service to the NTMA at the association's recent annual fall conference in Charlotte, N.C.

The Chapter of Year award recognizes excellence in nine areas — chapter organization, chapter operations and practices, board development, relations between the chapter and national organization, organizational excellence, marketing and membership, volunteer involvement, chapter local influence, and membership retention. There are 32 chapters of the NTMA nationwide.

The northwestern Pennsylvania chapter of the NTMA was one of 21 chapters receiving Star Chapter status for high scores on the NTMA's chapter organizational excellence survey which designed to create awareness in chapters of practices that ensure a well operating organization. The top scoring chapter is named Chapter of the Year.

“The northwestern Pennsylvania chapter is very pro-active and engaged in many activities to promote our trade and provide business growth opportunities to our members," said Tami Adams, executive director of the chapter. "The Chapter of the Year Award is truly a collective effort.”

The local chapter owes its success in being named Chapter of the Year to its active board and committees, according to Adams, who attended the NTMA's recent annual fall national conference along with Ken and Bonnie Kuhn, and John Watkins of JMB Technologies.

The local NTMA chapter board has 15 members — Craig Mullen of Northwest Bank, president; Greg Wasko of Starn Tool & Manufacturing Co., vice president; Mark Fisher of Starlite Diversified, treasurer; John Watkins of JBM Technologies, trustee; and directors Tim Barickman, NuTec Tooling Systems; Drew Cervone of Acutec Precision Aerospace; Todd DeVore, BraVor Tool & Die; Andy Foyle of H&H Machined Products; Ken Kuhn of Kuhn Tool and Die Co.; Chris Minnis of Laser Tool; Doug Nelson of Precision Manufacturing Institute; Kevin Oviatt of McGill Power Bell & Associates; Robbie Riordan of Greenleaf Corp.; Mark Sippy of Highpoint Tool; Ashleigh Smith of Area Tool & Manufacturing Inc.

Read more here.